Oct 9th 2015

A John Heiss premiere focuses on the oboe

by Michael Johnson

Michael Johnson is a music critic with particular interest in piano. 

Johnson worked as a reporter and editor in New York, Moscow, Paris and London over his journalism career. He covered European technology for Business Week for five years, and served nine years as chief editor of International Management magazine and was chief editor of the French technology weekly 01 Informatique. He also spent four years as Moscow correspondent of The Associated Press. He is the author of five books.

Michael Johnson is based in Bordeaux. Besides English and French he is also fluent in Russian.

You can order Michael Johnson's most recent book, a bilingual book, French and English, with drawings by Johnson:

“Portraitures and caricatures:  Conductors, Pianist, Composers”

 here.

Boston is that most musical of American cities, so there is never a shortage of recital and concert to choose from. I visit Boston twice and year and partake freely of the offerings.  Boston’s talented performers are the equal of New Yorkers, Parisians, even Berliners.

New music and American music occupy pride of place here and have done so since the days of the legendary Serge Koussevitzky – the Russian-born conductor who dominated the Boston music scene and made the Boston Symphony Orchestra what it is today, a world-class institution.

The area’s giant stone churches, relics from another era, seem more frequently utilized for chamber music than for worshiping. The Winsor Music Chamber Series at St. Paul’s Church, Brookline, is a good example. On October 4, a concert there ranged from the Baroque to the contemporary – including a world premiere of a John Heiss eight-part composition. A mostly subscription (and entirely grey-haired) audience filled the hall.

Music’s elite turned up, including composer-pianist Yehudi Wyner (president of the American Academy of Arts and Letters), star conductor Benjamin Zander and Heiss himself. I sat beside a soprano who had taught a generation of talented Boston singers.

The polished, professional players in this Young Artist Concert seemed equally comfortable with the traditional Luigi Boccherini Quintet in D minor Op. 25 No. 31 and the sometimes-atonal Heiss Microcosms that unfolded in new and fresh directions. The Heiss quintet satisfied the Winsor Series aim of presenting a world premiere at each concert in the series, a remarkable objective for any group.

Peggy Pearson, the virtuoso oboist and founder of Winsor Music Inc. nine years ago, took lead roles in both the Boccherini and the Heiss and made the most of her sensitive tone and fluid phrasing. The Heiss selection was in fact a reworking of an earlier version, premiered in June, that Pearson liked so much she boldly announced that she wanted to play it. Peggy usually gets her way. She recalled for me after the concert that she had said to Heiss, “I’d like you to write me into that piece.” Heiss complied, creating the new version with impressive oboe passages that transformed the piece to her advantage.

Heiss injected his sense of play into the music, beginning with a 30-second movement then a 40-second movement, both mere fleeting ideas, actually, gradually increasing in length to about three minutes. Inspirations popped up and vanished, moods came and went, and percussive effects were added by handclaps and drumming on the cello and viola frames. Stops and starts came at unexpected intervals, to the delight of the audience.

He slipped into the atonal and back to tonal, but always layered with harmonies, some of them pleasant, others in clashing dissonance. One of the players praised the “purity and crystalline quality” of the music. Explaining his brevity, Heiss said he tried to make each phrase perfect, “not wasting a note”. The players never lost sight of the overall piece, giving it coherence and meaning.

Mitsuru Yonezaki led on violin, with Pearson on oboe, Gabriela Diaz (viola), Rafael Popper-Keizer (cello) and Lawrence Wolfe (bass). Heiss has been a popular professor of composition at New England Conservatory for 49 years. The quintet is his 53rd completed work.

Following intermission came Jewel Hill: A Song for the Spirit, composed by Megan Henderson, who introduced it with a short explanation. Henderson, who performs both as pianist and as a singer in the Schola Cantorum group, invited the audience to join in a sing-along, reading from a one-page score that was distributed at entry. The notation was in “shape note” style, an old technique for facilitating community singing. I let out a sigh of despond as I realized we were being asked to engage in some kind of group thing, unrehearsed and no doubt painful.

But the ensuing performance produced a spontaneous and beautiful full-chorus effect.  Onstage was Henderson and three other singers (soprano Peggy Murray, alto Henderson, tenor Lysander Jaffee and bass Bret Silverman) plus the strings from the earlier program. The audience, familiar with Pearson’s productions, gamely sang along, and in tune. Somehow it all hung together.

The program closed with a vigorous reading of the Schumann Piano Trio No. 2 in F minor. Op. 80, one of his three piano trios. It begins with the marking Sehr lebhaft (Very lively) and the cello (Popper-Keizer) and violinist (Diaz) were appropriately energetic in extended parallel passages.  Alternately to piano part functions as lead and accompaniment. The piano emerges dominant in subsequent movements, played by the much-decorated Eliko Akahori, a popular Boston area recitalist and chamber player.

Pearson’s Winsor Music, Inc., has grown steadily in popularity, now operating along four lines: development of new works for oboe, a chamber music series, taking chamber music to retirement communities, and schools, and the Bach Institute in collaboration with Emmanuel Music and Oberlin College.

 

Another version of this review has appeared on Boston Musical Intelligencer at www.classical-scene.com.

 


This article is brought to you by the author who owns the copyright to the text.

Should you want to support the author’s creative work you can use the PayPal “Donate” button below.

Your donation is a transaction between you and the author. The proceeds go directly to the author’s PayPal account in full less PayPal’s commission.

Facts & Arts neither receives information about you, nor of your donation, nor does Facts & Arts receive a commission.

Facts & Arts does not pay the author, nor takes paid by the author, for the posting of the author's material on Facts & Arts. Facts & Arts finances its operations by selling advertising space.

 

 

Browse articles by author

More Music Reviews

Jul 9th 2020
EXTRACT: "In our chat by telephone, Paley spoke from his Paris apartment and asserted his belief that Rameau was “the greatest French composer ever. Pure genius and very special colors.” He acknowledges his extensive research into the period of Rameau’s life (1683-1764) in order to recreate the spirit of the time."
Jul 8th 2020
EXTRACT: "In A Fistful of Dollars (1964) and subsequent films, Morricone opted for an unprecedented fusion of archaic-sounding lines in the melody, reminiscent of medieval modal music. He intermixed this sound with contemporary pop touches (the Fender electric guitar), wordless choirs, unusual instruments (Jew’s harp, ocarinas, mariachi trumpets…) and ambient sounds (whip cracks, whistles, gunshot, coyote’s howls). He also infused scores with his trademark humour. This can be heard in the comedy western Il Mio Nome è Nessuno (My Name is Nobody, Tonino Valerii, 1973) where a toy trumpet toots bits of Wagner’s Ride of the Valkyries."
Jul 1st 2020
EXTRACT: "Question: Are you collaborating with living composers? Answer: Yes, Scott Wollschleger sends me unfinished new works every month. Keeril Makan is working on a piano concerto. Melaine Dalibert has dedicated several recent works to me. There are more names on the horizon. But these are the three where I feel I can have a big impact on their careers, and all three write music that I feel born to play. That combination of things is important to me."
Jun 1st 2020
EXTRACT: "Question: How do you see your musical mission today? Answer: My real passion in music is to resist popularity rankings and market forces. In my view, these currents impoverish our cultural richness........."
May 1st 2020
EXTRACT: Alessandro Deljavan: "I bought a former convent 40 kilometers from Pescara, in Villamagna. It's very important for me to breathe clean air and live as simply as possible. Life in a giant city full of cars and smog is hard for me to imagine. My perspective is always to live fully. My aspirations for the best musical experiences guides my decisions and over the past several years I have had the pleasure of meeting and working with some wonderful musicians—these experiences have brought me a sense of optimism for what might lie ahead.”
Apr 16th 2020
EXTRACT: "Federico Mompou, the reclusive Catalonian composer whose calm, spare piano writing is currently enjoying a rebirth, might well look askance at any effort to pull him forward into modern mode. Such was never his genre but that’s precisely what one of his ardent admirers, pianist Maria Canyigueral, proposed to do. The result is her intriguing new CD, Avant-guarding Mompou."
Mar 22nd 2020
EXTRACT: "In our interview, Prof. Réach says he cautions his students in Barcelona to approach the Variations with care, warning them “the path will be long and will require great patience”. He has personally overcome his fear of this “masterpiece of masterpieces”, having recorded them three times and performed them in about 15 countries a total of about 150 times."
Mar 13th 2020
EXTRACT: "The 88-key piano looks headed for a major transformation in the coming decades. The mechanism under the lid is based on a 130-year-old design and many specialists believe it is time to dispense with those delicate moving parts.  As innovative Australian piano builder Wayne Stuart says, “The piano has been crying out for a rethink for over a hundred years.” "
Mar 8th 2020
EXTRACT: "Question: You have a Paris background. What do you bring to Granados to ensure Spanish flavor? Delicacy? Momentum? Singing and dancing undertones? Rubato?........Answer: First, I am profoundly European........."
Feb 15th 2020
EXTRACT: "Question: You have said that you are plagued by doubts. Is this true?.........Answer: Of course I am plagued by doubts. This is part of the artist’s life. But I continue to work and perform. I have moments of depression but I try to transform these doubts into positives. Many artists have these doubts. Some don’t talk about it. But doubt is always there."
Jan 26th 2020
EXTRACT: "QUESTION: Wouldn’t young composers of today benefit from aligning themselves with a philosophical ethos in order to find their musical voice -- as opposed to trying merely to find their own voice by drawing on imagination or personal experience?.......... ANSWER: It’s an interesting question, but open to interpretation. My impulse is to answer yes. When young I did a tremendous amount of reading in the history of aesthetics, and as a result my sense of artist -- ethos, necessity, whatever -- is not limited to post-WWII influences. One result is that I’ve never had any patience for the late-20th-century idea that art is about “personal expression.” The ancient and more enduring view is that the artist expresses what is out there to be expressed. As T.S. Eliot admirably wrote, art is an escape from personality, not an expression of it. Likewise I’ve never warmed to the idea of “finding one’s voice,” which sounds to me too much like creating an instantly recognizable trademark style that will make your music easier to market commercially."
Jan 19th 2020
EXTRACT: "It has been a long journey I enjoy re-living as I take note this year of the great Ludwig van Beethoven’s 250th birthday. As a practicing music critic and journalist from American corn country, I call myself a hick hack but I experience meltdown at almost everything the great man wrote. How can one not love Beethoven?"
Jan 9th 2020
EXTRACT: "Judith Juaregui, based in Madrid but peripatetic in her concertizing around Europe, is gaining an international audience of admirers, boosted by the brilliant pianistic colors of her Debussy, Liszt, Falla, Chopin and Mompou in her fifth CD, “Pour le Tombeau de Claude Debussy”, just out. This album was recorded at a recital in Vienna last year, her first foray into live recording, and she is  rather pleased with the result, which, she says in our interview (below), captured a “moment of honesty”. She left everything in, including the vigorous applause from the audience."
Dec 11th 2019
EXTRACTS: "The young tousle-haired pianist from the distant Minnesota, Reed Tetzloff, is building a performance career in the U.S. and Europe by steering a course through rare repertoire that is both challenging and attractive for the listener........In our email question-and-answer discussion he explains his priorities as a musician and his attraction to a wide range of repertoire."
Dec 9th 2019
Extract: "Then the house lights came up and the rest of us rushed out, relieved that it was all over."
Nov 15th 2019
Extract: "Question: Mompou was modest, yet one of his famous comments is similar to Handel’s remark that he was writing down what God dictated. Mompou said he did not think up music, he simply transmitted it. Answer: The Mompou’s idea about God was interesting. God was a great force that also could destroy his own creation, like a child who in a moment of joy treads on an ant without noticing. Mompou explained that, in his case, the music was not coming from inside to outside, but the opposite way, from outside to the inside, with him being the intermediary of this flow, as a kind of medium. Mompou felt embarrassed to be called on stage after a performance of his music. He was convinced that if the work was really good, it was not entirely created by himself. 
Oct 27th 2019
Composer Kyle Gann’s new book ‘The Arithmetic of Listening’ analyzes microtonality and makes a plea for the music fraternity to open its ears to the new directions possible. After 22 years of teaching at Bard College in the eastern United States, Gann has become a guru or godfather of new music, and continues to produce captivating compositions, as in his new two-CD album ‘Hyperchromatica’. His latest book analyzes and explains tuning theory. In this interview he asserts that new music that gets the attention of publishers and producers today is mostly “derivative crap”. The golden age of “downtown” music from 1960 to 2000 assembled “a bunch of escapees from the twin hells of academia and corporate commercialism”.
Oct 21st 2019
EXTRACT: "A powerful new talent from Italy, Alessandro Deljavan, made his U.S. East Coast debut October 19, with a magnificent reading of the Brahms Piano concerto No. 2 under conductor Benjamin Zander and the Boston Philharmonic Orchestra."
Sep 18th 2019
EXTRACT: "This is some of Ilic’s best work. A California native of Serbian extraction, he is emerging now as a major player in a crowded field."
Sep 8th 2019
Extract: "Chopin’s two piano concertos are among the most frequently recorded of 19th century works, both for their melodic charm, their pulsing rhythms and their historical significance. Young Chopin wrote the piano part with exceptional verve, showing the way for future composers to let the piano burst free from its orchestral surroundings."